1
Posted December 15, 2014 by in Book Lists
 
 

8 Books Like The Da Vinci Code


da vinci codeWhen I finished The Da Vinci Code series I was left a little stunned. I didn’t know what to read next. I started looking for more books like The Da Vinci Code, but came up a bit short. I couldn’t find much. When you are a little lost going through the aisles of the bookstore, flipping pages, where do you turn? Well, I turned to Goodreads without much luck, then decide that I’d better just write my thoughts down and tell people what I think are good follow-ups to this series. Also, based on Goodreads ratings, all the books below have received higher ratings than The Da Vinci Code! No synopsis re-writing below, just my thoughts.

 

8 Books like The Da Vinci Code:

 

Books like the Da Vinci CodeDemiurge: Blood of the Innocent by Michael Hagan

This is a new novel by a small independent press, but don’t let that fool you; this novel will knock you off your couch and you might even spill your coffee. Hagan delivers a knockout of excitement, suspense, twists and turns. What I liked was the religious/prophecy aspect of this book. That is what I like about The Da Vinci Code and that is what this book has in the way of similarities. Although this book is more of a murder mystery thriller, it came up again and again as an exciting read. It is the highest rated book on this list. Don’t believe me? Check out the reviews on Goodreads.

 

The Eight by Katherine Neville

Craftily written and suspenseful to the end, The Eight by Katherine Neville keeps you entertained and interested. It is nice to have a novel with two great female protagonists who can charm and balance each other out so well. This book has some majorly lovable scenes and subplots that stretch around the world.


Books like the Da Vinci CodeFoucault’s Pendulum by Umberto Eco

From Italian to English, this translation will grab you by the ear and hold you with a magical power. This is a great book that is very similar to The Da Vinci Code, but written earlier and maybe with better detail. This book rolls conspiracies, the Knights Templar, and mystery all into one. It is a deep novel that will take you into the details of history and legend while backing it all up and making you turn the pages as quick as you can read.

 

The Sparrow: A Novel by Mary Doria Russell

This is the second highest rated book on the list and gets a bit off the rails as far as books similar to The Da Vinci Code go. Words like “provocative” and “compelling” will come to mind as you read this shocking novel about first contact with a race that creates music akin to both poetry and prayer.

 

Books like the Da Vinci CodeThe Last Day by Glenn Kleier

This is the third highest rated book on the list and it belongs there. Based on the synopsis I shied away from this for years, but I was sad that I did. This book truly will take you to a new world. This book brings scenarios of life and religion that people don’t want to hear about into play. Just like The Da Vinci Code, this book brings religion into a whole new light, without being overly religious.

 

The Hunt for Atlantis by Andy McDermott

This book is a mind-blowing expose on a search for Atlantis and a secret organization trying to stop them. I wouldn’t say this is the most literary book, but it does touch on great history and has some amazing adventure intertwined with well-developed characters. It has action, thrills, and some chills. Worth a read but keep your expectations moderate.

 

The Expected One by Kathleen McGowan

Inevitably compared to The Da Vinci Code because of the link of Mary Magdalene, this book delivers a secret society-driven mystery that will bring in lots of interesting ideas about how history played out in the past and what it means in the future. As long as you keep an open mind about religion and what the future can hold, this book may have some great themes for you.

 

Books like the Da Vinci CodeAgony of the Gods by Tom Wolosz

Now we have definitely crossed from historical fiction into science fiction. Although this is highly rated, I wouldn’t say it fits in the list per se, but it does give a great murder mystery with twists that challenges what you believe. I love the way the author brings you into new worlds while balancing attraction and repulsion with the two main characters.

 

 

Authors like Dan Brown:

For legal thrillers in general, look at books by:

John Grisham
Philip Margolin
Steve Martini
Richard North Patterson
Scott Turow

For mysteries with a legal theme, you may like:

Antonia Fraser
John Lescroart
Lia Matera
Perri O’Shaughnessy
Kate Wilhelm


William Y.

 
Marketing manager, editor, and author. I am a bookkaholic who stays up into dawn reading, wakes up groggy and grabs another book to make myself feel human again. I am an avid outdoors-man, but find myself behind a computer more than outdoors these days. I try not to tell many people this, but I really liked the Star Wars book series... Check out all my articles.